Musings – Paris is always a good idea

I’ve seen you, beauty, and you belong to me now, whoever you are waiting for and if I never see you again, I thought. You belong to me and all Paris belongs to me and I belong to this notebook and this pencil.
– Ernest Hemingway

We had four days in Paris in August. It was warm and sunny with our last day being the warmest.

We flew with Aer Lingus direct from Dublin to CDG Airport. The flights were pleasant.

We stayed in Montmartre within walking distance of The Moulin Rouge and Sacre Coeur Church. Paris is a city of juxtaposition!

The art and architecture were breathtaking.

We got a three day bus and boat hop on/hop off ticket which served us well.

While 4 days was never going to be enough to see and do all we wanted to, we found that four days in a city is more than enough in another way!

I took 400 pics on my Siemens camera and I have yet to sort through them but here are a few from my iPhone.

The Arc de Triomph

IMG_9671

Eiffel Tower

IMG_9679

Sacre Coeur

IMG_9600

Van Gogh in the Musee Dorsay

IMG_9862

The Louvre pyramid

IMG_9634

Street life

IMG_9749

Paris is a beautiful city with something to catch the eye on every corner. It’s expensive but worth a visit at least once in a lifetime.

In Rome we threw a coin in the Trevi fountain to ensure a return visit. Is there an equivalent gesture for Paris? I don’t know so I gave the Eiffel Tower a hug and promised that I would be back!

IMG_9898

Notre Dame

IMG_9765

Leave a Reply

