Chapter 23 – Meaning More Than Words

Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.
– Rudyard Kipling

I have a drawer in my bureau in the spare room where I keep all the cards and letters I received from family, friends and work colleagues during my illness in 2007.

IMG_8048

I’m not sure I ever got around to thanking everyone who sent me a get well card, a Mass Bouquet, a letter, flowers, postcards etc. So, I am doing so now.

For those of you reading this please know how much I appreciate your kind gesture to me when I was at my lowest. There were days when your cards and letters saved my life!

IMG_8046

I am also glad in a way that FB and Twitter were not really around at the time and that all of the good wishes arrived to me in hand written envelopes. There’s something wondrous about receiving real post in the mail …. That someone took the time to make or choose a card and then hand wrote it and stuck a stamp in it. It’s like receiving a hug in the mail.

IMG_8047

So 8 years later I am saying THANK YOU to each one of you for taking the time to write to me.

IMG_8044

If you get the chance in the future to write to someone who is ill, under the weather or taking time out, please know how much your hand written words will mean to them.

For me, the funnier the card, the better!

I was delighted to find a new range of cards recently to send to people who are ill – cards that tell it how it is! The girl who has created them is Emily McDowell and she’s a cancer survivor too.

These are some of her honest cards. I love them.

IMG_8066

These are some of the other cards I received.

Thanks to all the lovely people who thought of me.

Brenda

X
IMG_8050

IMG_8051

IMG_8052

IMG_8049

IMG_8045

Leave a Reply

